Richmond, MA 01254
Chief William Bullett
Deputy Patrick Barry
Constables John Ryan, Eric “Rick” Latimer, Patrick Barry
All Richmond law enforcement services are handled by the Massachusetts state police, via Berkshire County Dispatch. The Richmond Police Department is an administrative department only.
For emergencies: Call 911. This rings to Berkshire County Dispatch.
For non-emergency law enforcement services: Call 413-442-3693. This also rings to Berkshire County Dispatch
The Richmond Police Department issues firearms licenses to all qualified Richmond residents, upon request. The department performs other administrative duties, including assisting other agencies, staffing the elections with constables, and posting warrants.
APPLICATIONS: Current license holders should be mailed an application from the Firearms Records’ Bureau, well before their license expires. Applications may also be obtained from the Firearms Record’s Bureau at https://www.mass.gov/firearms-services, the police department, the town administrative assistants’ office, or using this link: Download application here.
APPOINTMENTS: New applicants require a processing appointment and renewals do not. New applicants will be called to schedule a half hour appointment for processing. This processing includes fingerprinting and a suitability interview, which are required by law. It will also include having your photograph taken if you don’t have a Massachusetts driver’s license.
NEW APPLICANTS: Submit your completed and signed application, including social security number, to the Richmond Police Department, or bring to the town administrative assistant’s office, with a check or money order for $100, made out to the Town of Richmond, for the processing fee. Exception: If you are under 18 years old when applying for a Firearms Identification Card, the fee is $25. If you are under 18, you will need a signed letter from a parent or legal guardian granting your permission to obtain a license. Do not include the affidavit attached to the application.
RENEWALS: Submit your completed and signed application, including social security number, and completed affidavit that accompanies the application, to the Richmond Police Department, or bring to the town administrative assistant’s office, with a check or money order for $100, made out to the Town of Richmond, for the processing fee. Exception: If you are over 70, or will be when the new license issues, the fee is waived. There is an automatic 90-day grace period on all expired licenses. Once a renewal application is submitted, there is a grace period until approved or denied. Licenses expire on your birthday anniversary during the sixth year of issue.
TIMEFRAME: Applications are generally processed within a week of receipt by Richmond. Then, various state agencies do their part, and if all is in order, the Firearms Records Bureau mails the new license to the police department, where it is then activated in the state system, and mailed to the licensee, along with your assigned Personal Identification Number (PIN), for any potential purchases. The process usually takes 7-9 weeks. If your application is denied, you will receive a certified letter stating the reason, and your appeal rights.
Please call 413-441-1106, if you have questions after reading this. Leave a message with your name and number, if there is no answer. You will be called back in a timely manner.